Mid-market rate vs the rate you actually get
Why dollar to naira mid-market rates don't agree, what apps publish about their conversion cost, and a one-line way to work out what a rate is costing you.

The mid-market rate is the midpoint between the buying and selling prices on currency markets, and nobody converts your money at it. For dollars to naira, sites don't even agree on it. On 19 September 2026, XE's mid-market rate was ₦1,331.84 and Wise's was about ₦1,373, a gap of around ₦41 on every dollar.
Daya Borders takes 0% of a dollar payment when it arrives, where Grey and Cleva take 0.8%, so the conversion rate is the main cost left to compare. This page explains which rate is which, how to work out what a rate is costing you, and which benchmark to use. Understanding the naira exchange rate covers why the naira has more than one rate in the first place.
What is the mid-market rate?
The mid-market rate is the halfway point between the price buyers are paying for a currency and the price sellers are asking. Wise describes it as the rate banks and money transfer services use to trade with each other. It's a reference number, not a price anyone offers you.
XE's converter says it plainly under its own figure: "You won't receive this rate when sending money." Every app, bank and money transfer service converts at a worse rate than the market it trades in, because that gap is one of the ways they get paid.
What it means for you: when an app shows you a rate, it's never the mid-market rate. The useful question is how far the app's rate sits from it, and that depends on which mid-market rate you're measuring against.
Why does the dollar to naira mid-market rate differ between sites?
The naira has two markets, and different sites anchor to different ones. The official rate comes from the CBN's foreign exchange market, and the black market rate (also called the parallel market rate) is what street dealers and many apps trade at. In mid-September 2026 the two were roughly ₦44 to ₦61 apart.
The two rates, with sources:
- The official rate. The CBN publishes it on its exchange rates page as the NFEM rate, worked out as a volume-weighted average and described as "the official exchange rate for the day". PM News reported it closed at ₦1,331.28 on 17 September.
- The black market rate. Vanguard reported ₦1,375 on 18 September, and Tribune reported ₦1,385 to buy and ₦1,390 to sell the same day. Street quotes vary more than official ones do.
XE's mid-market figure of ₦1,331.84 sits right on the official rate. Wise's figure of about ₦1,373 sits near the black market rate. Both are labelled mid-market, and neither is wrong about the market it's measuring. Why the black market rate differs from the official rate explains how the gap opens and closes.
What it means for you: an app can look like it pays above the mid-market rate against XE and below it against Wise, on the same day. Before you judge a rate, ask which mid-market it's being compared with.
What rate does Google show for dollars to naira?
Google shows a rate supplied by Morningstar, and it doesn't say which Nigerian market that rate follows. Google's finance disclaimer says currency prices are provided by Morningstar and that Google can't guarantee they're accurate, and it tells you to confirm rates before you transact.
Google's naira figure has gone badly wrong before. In February 2019 it showed $1 as ₦184 when the real rate was about ₦363, as Newsweek reported at the time. Treat Google as a rough guide, not a benchmark to hold an app to.
Why is the rate you get lower than the mid-market rate?
Providers make money on a conversion in two places: a fee they state, and a margin built into the rate they show you. Some charge both. Grey says so directly on its fees and charges page: a 1% conversion fee capped at $6, and an exchange rate that "includes a margin over the mid-market rate".
Most providers publish less than that. This is what each one says about the cost of turning dollars into naira:
| Provider | Conversion fee it publishes | Says its rate includes a margin |
|---|---|---|
| Grey | 1%, capped at $6 | Yes |
| Raenest | 0.5%, capped at $2.70 (January 2026) | Not stated |
| Cleva | None published | Not stated |
| Payoneer | Up to 3% on withdrawals that convert | Not stated |
| PayPal | 3% above its base rate on payments received | Yes, the 3% is added to its base rate |
| Upwork | None published | Yes, its payment partners may add a markup |
The sources are Raenest's January 2026 pricing update, Cleva's pricing page, Payoneer's pricing page, PayPal's Nigeria fees page and Upwork's currency conversion article.
A provider that publishes no conversion fee isn't converting for free, and one that does publish a fee may still add a margin to the rate. So the only way to judge any of them is to compare the naira you actually receive. The live rate below is what Daya Borders converts at right now.
$1 = ₦1,368.41
$1,000.00 converts to ₦1,368,410.
As of 21 September 2026, $1,000 received through Daya Borders lands as ₦1,368,410, because Daya charges 0% on incoming dollar transfers and converts at ₦1,368.41 per $1.
| You send | You receive |
|---|---|
| $1 | ₦1,368 |
| $100 | ₦136,841 |
| $1,000 | ₦1,368,410 |
Rates as of 21 Sep 2026, 23:29 WAT · Indicative rate
How do you work out what a rate is costing you?
You compare the rate you're offered with a benchmark rate and turn the gap into a percentage. It takes one line of arithmetic, and it works for any app, bank or platform.
- Pick your benchmark, either the official rate or a black market quote, and note it down.
- Note how many naira the app gives you for $1 at the same time.
- Subtract the app's rate from the benchmark.
- Divide the result by the benchmark and multiply by 100.
Take round numbers. If your benchmark is ₦1,370 and an app offers ₦1,340, the gap is ₦30. Divide ₦30 by ₦1,370 and multiply by 100, and the rate is costing you about 2.2%. On a $1,000 payment, that's ₦30,000.
If the answer comes out negative, the app is paying more than your benchmark. That usually means you've measured an app that trades near the black market rate against the official rate, and the benchmark is the wrong one for the job.
Where does Daya Borders fit?
Daya Borders gives you US dollar account details in your own name, takes 0% of every payment when it arrives, and shows you its live rate before you convert. You hold the dollars until you choose to convert, then withdraw naira to any Nigerian bank account.
The fair way to judge Daya Borders, or any provider, is the side-by-side test in the next section. What Daya Borders does settle is the receiving step: none of your payment disappears before you convert, whatever its size, so the live rate is the one number to check.
Which rate should you compare against?
Compare against the rate you could realistically get instead. If your alternative is converting through a bank or another official channel, use the official rate. If your alternative is another app, skip the benchmark and compare the apps directly.
The direct comparison is the most reliable test there is:
- Pick an amount you actually receive, like $500.
- Open two apps within a few minutes of each other.
- Enter the same amount in each and read the naira figure.
- The bigger naira figure wins on that day.
That test catches the stated fee and the hidden margin together, which no fee table can. Rates move through the day, so repeat it when you're converting a large amount rather than relying on last month's result.
Does the exchange rate or the fee matter more?
On most payments, the rate matters more. On $1,000, every ₦1 difference in the rate is ₦1,000 in your account, so a rate ₦10 better is worth ₦10,000. A fee capped at $6, like Grey's, is worth about ₦8,200 at ₦1,370 to the dollar, however big the payment is.
How that plays out by payment size:
- On small payments, fixed fees and minimums take a bigger share, so they matter more.
- On large payments, percentage costs and the rate take over, because they grow with the amount.
- A receiving fee is charged before you convert, so it comes off the dollars rather than the naira. Grey and Cleva charge 0.8% on a US bank transfer, and Daya Borders charges 0%.
If you get paid through a platform, the platform's own conversion comes first. How to withdraw money from Upwork in Nigeria covers which withdrawal options keep your money in dollars so you can choose when to convert.
Frequently asked questions
- What is the mid-market rate?
The mid-market rate is the midpoint between the buying and selling prices for a currency on the wholesale market. Banks and money transfer services use it to trade with each other, but individuals never convert at it. XE's converter says so directly: "You won't receive this rate when sending money."
- Why is my rate lower than the rate on Google?
Google shows a reference rate supplied by Morningstar, not a price anyone will give you. Every app and bank converts at a worse rate than the market it trades in, through a stated fee, a margin in the rate, or both. For naira, Google also doesn't say whether its figure follows the official rate or the black market rate.
- Is the black market rate the mid-market rate?
Not officially. The official mid-market reference is the CBN's NFEM rate, which XE tracks closely. But some sites label a figure near the black market rate as mid-market, and on 19 September 2026 Wise's mid-market figure was about ₦1,373 against XE's ₦1,331.84. Always check which one a comparison uses.
- How do I calculate the markup on an exchange rate?
Subtract the rate you're offered from a benchmark rate, divide by the benchmark, and multiply by 100. If the benchmark is ₦1,370 and you're offered ₦1,340, the markup is about 2.2%. On $1,000, that's ₦30,000 less in your account.
- Does Daya Borders charge to receive dollars?
No. Daya Borders takes 0% of a dollar or euro payment when it arrives, with no cap and no conditions, where Grey and Cleva charge 0.8% on a US bank transfer. Daya Borders shows its live rate before you convert, so you can compare it with other apps on the same amount at the same time.
- Which apps publish their conversion fee?
Grey publishes a 1% conversion fee capped at $6, Payoneer lists up to 3%, and PayPal lists 3% on payments received. Raenest shows its fee in the app before you confirm. Whatever an app publishes, compare the naira you actually receive for the same amount on the same day.
Sources(15)
- What's the mid-market exchange rate?, Wise. Accessed .
- USD to NGN currency converter, XE. Accessed .
- USD to NGN rate, Wise. Accessed .
- Exchange rates by currency, Central Bank of Nigeria. Accessed .
- FX: Naira records fresh loss as dollar closes at N1,331, PM News. Accessed .
- Naira depreciates to N1,375 in parallel market, Vanguard. Accessed .
- Naira appreciates against dollar at official FX market, Nigerian Tribune. Accessed .
- Google Finance disclaimer, Google. Accessed .
- Fees and charges on Grey, Grey. Accessed .
- Raenest pricing update for Nigeria, Raenest. Accessed .
- Pricing, Cleva. Accessed .
- Pricing, Payoneer. Accessed .
- PayPal fees (Nigeria), PayPal. Accessed .
- How currency conversion works on Upwork, Upwork. Accessed .
- Daya Borders, Daya. Accessed .



