Crypto & stablecoins

Quidax OTC alternatives for P2P merchants

Quidax OTC starts above $100,000. Where a P2P merchant can trade USDT for naira below that, with minimums, opening hours and pricing side by side.

headshot of lade falobi

Lade Falobi · Product Marketing

· 7 min read

LinkedIn
Daya blog cover. Quidax OTC alternatives for P2P merchants.

The main Quidax OTC alternatives for a P2P merchant in Nigeria are Obiex's OTC desk, Daya Pro, Luno's OTC desk, Quidax's own orderbook and Breet's OTC desk. Quidax OTC is built for trades above $100,000. Daya Pro has a $1 minimum, against $50,000 at Obiex and Luno OTC and above $100,000 at Quidax OTC.

Every minimum, fee and opening time on this page comes from each company's own pages, checked on 19 September 2026. For the wider picture on buying and selling USDT and USDC with naira, see the guide to stablecoins in Nigeria.

Why do P2P merchants look for a Quidax OTC alternative?

Most P2P merchants look elsewhere because Quidax OTC is built for trades above $100,000, and a lot of merchant volume sits well below that. A merchant turning over $5,000 to $50,000 at a time is too big to keep matching strangers on a peer-to-peer board, and too small for the minimum at most desks.

Quidax also closed its peer-to-peer marketplace on 23 January 2026. Quidax's P2P notice points former P2P users to its instant swap and its orderbook. So a merchant who used Quidax for both day-to-day P2P and bigger trades now has to choose between the orderbook, a desk with a $100,000 floor, or another provider.

What are the best Quidax OTC alternatives?

These are the options a P2P merchant can use today, ordered by how closely each one replaces a Quidax OTC desk:

  1. Obiex OTC desk. Starts at $50,000, open 24/7, with a dedicated account manager and post-trade settlement options.
  2. Daya Pro. A live USDT/NGN orderbook with a $1 minimum, open 24/7. You trade against the book yourself instead of asking a desk for a quote.
  3. Luno OTC desk. Starts at $50,000 and goes up to $2 million a trade, but it only trades on weekdays, 7am to 3pm Nigerian time.
  4. Quidax's own orderbook. Same company, no desk minimum, and a published fee of 0.07% for makers on USDT/NGN.
  5. Breet OTC desk. Same-day settlement and a named account manager, with no published minimum.
Checked on each company's own pages, 19 September 2026. Nigerian time is WAT.
ProviderMinimum tradeOpening hoursHow you get a price
Obiex OTC desk$50,00024/7Quote from the desk
Daya Pro$124/7Live orderbook
Luno OTC desk$50,000, up to $2 millionWeekdays, 7am to 3pm WATAll-in quote from the desk
Quidax OTC deskAbove $100,000Not statedQuote from the desk
Breet OTC deskNot publishedNot statedVolume-based quote

The figures come from Obiex's OTC desk announcement, Luno's guide to large trades, Luno's OTC page, Quidax's OTC desk page and Breet's OTC desk page.

Desk quotes are private, so they can't be compared live. The live comparison below shows Daya Pro's last traded dollar price in naira against the prices on other exchanges, so you can check it against what a desk offers you on the same day.

Naira paid per $1 by each provider, and on $1,000, each with the time of its quote.
ProviderPer $1On $1,000
GateQuoted 21 Sep 2026, 23:00 WAT₦1,373.00₦1,373,000
Daya ProQuoted 21 Sep 2026, 23:00 WAT₦1,372.90₦1,372,900
BybitQuoted 21 Sep 2026, 23:00 WAT₦1,372.67₦1,372,670
QuidaxQuoted 21 Sep 2026, 23:00 WAT₦1,372.19₦1,372,190
LunoQuoted 21 Sep 2026, 23:00 WAT₦1,372.11₦1,372,110
Yellow CardQuoted 21 Sep 2026, 16:18 WAT₦1,363.00₦1,363,000
BushaQuoted 21 Sep 2026, 23:00 WAT₦1,361.47₦1,361,470
CoinExQuoted 21 Sep 2026, 23:00 WAT₦1,354.03₦1,354,030

As of 21 September 2026, $1,000 converted to naira pays Gate ₦1,373,000, Daya Pro ₦1,372,900, Bybit ₦1,372,670, Quidax ₦1,372,190, Luno ₦1,372,110, Yellow Card ₦1,363,000, Busha ₦1,361,470 and CoinEx ₦1,354,030, at each provider's quoted rate before its fees.

Each provider's quote is timed in the table · Conversion rate only. Receiving fees vary by provider. Competitor rates sourced from Monierate.

Rates from Monierate.

Is Obiex a good alternative to Quidax OTC?

Obiex is the closest like-for-like swap for a merchant who wants a desk. Obiex's OTC desk announcement puts the minimum at the equivalent of $50,000, half of Quidax's, and says requests are looked at case by case. The desk is open 24/7, each client gets a dedicated account manager, and Obiex offers post-trade settlement for clients who need time to fund a trade.

Obiex doesn't list an OTC fee on that page, so the price is whatever the desk quotes you on the day. Ask for the all-in naira figure before you confirm, and compare it with the live orderbook prices above.

Where does Daya Pro fit?

Daya Pro is a live USDT/NGN orderbook for P2P merchants and OTC desks, with a $1 minimum and trading 24/7. Daya Pro and Quidax's orderbook are the two options here without a five-figure floor, so a merchant doing $5,000 or $20,000 can trade straight away instead of waiting to qualify for a desk.

Daya Pro works like an exchange. You place market or limit orders yourself and see the depth before you trade, the same way you would on Quidax's or Luno's orderbook. A business that wants an account manager to work a $300,000 order will be better served by Obiex or Luno's desk. For everything from $1 up to the size where those desks start, Daya Pro takes the trade at any hour, weekends included.

Is Luno OTC available in Nigeria?

Yes. Luno's OTC desk trades naira, and Luno's guide to large trades sets the minimum at $50,000 and the maximum at $2 million a trade, with bigger amounts arranged separately. Luno quotes an all-in price and says there's no separate commission. You can settle immediately if your account is funded, or lock a price and settle within 2 business days.

Luno's desk only trades on weekdays. Luno's OTC page gives its hours as Monday to Friday, 8am to 4pm South African time, which is 7am to 3pm in Nigeria. A trade you need to do in the evening or at the weekend waits until Monday morning.

Can you use Quidax's orderbook instead of Quidax OTC?

Yes, and for many merchants it's the simplest switch. Quidax's orderbook has no desk minimum and a published fee. Quidax's fee page, last updated 15 June 2026, lists these charges:

  • Trading on standard pairs: 0.1% for makers and takers.
  • Trading USDT/NGN and USDC/NGN: 0.07% for makers.
  • Naira deposits by bank transfer: no Quidax fee.
  • Naira withdrawals: ₦200, plus ₦50 stamp duty on ₦10,000 or more.

The orderbook has no account manager to work a big order for you. A large market order fills against the best prices first and then the next ones down, so the average price on a big trade can end up worse than the top of the book. Splitting a large order into several limit orders keeps more control over the price you get.

What about Breet's OTC desk?

Breet's OTC desk is built for businesses moving large volumes, such as importers, betting operators and payment companies. Breet promises same-day settlement in naira, cedis, dollars, USDT and USDC, and gives each client a named account manager.

Breet doesn't publish a minimum or a fee. Its page says pricing improves as your trade size grows, so you'll need to ask for a quote before you know what a trade costs.

Is Quidax OTC regulated?

Quidax is one of two companies the Securities and Exchange Commission lists as a digital asset exchange on its register of fintech operators, alongside Busha. Both are listed under ARIP, the SEC's programme for crypto firms operating while they work toward full registration.

What it means for you: before you move volume to any desk, search its name on the same register, and ask which company your trades will actually be with. That's the name to check.

Which Quidax OTC alternative should you pick?

The right pick depends mostly on the size of your trades and when you need to trade:

  • Under $50,000 a trade: Daya Pro or Quidax's orderbook, since every desk here with a published minimum starts at $50,000 or more.
  • $50,000 to $2 million on weekdays: Obiex or Luno OTC, if you want a quoted price and an account manager.
  • Evenings and weekends: Obiex's desk or Daya Pro, the two options here open 24/7.
  • Business volumes that need same-day settlement in several currencies: ask Breet for a quote.

Whichever you choose, compare the naira you'd receive for the same trade on the same day. Why the USDT/NGN rate you're quoted is often wrong shows how to check a quote against a real orderbook, and Busha vs Quidax compares the two SEC-listed exchanges in more depth. If most of your trades sit under $50,000, Daya Pro lets you start with a $1 test trade.

Frequently asked questions

What is the minimum trade on Quidax OTC?

Quidax's OTC desk page says it's built for trades above $100,000. Smaller trades go through Quidax's own orderbook or instant swap, which have no desk minimum. The orderbook fee is 0.1% for makers and takers on standard pairs, and 0.07% for makers on USDT/NGN, per Quidax's fee page updated 15 June 2026.

What's the smallest trade Daya Pro will take?

Daya Pro's minimum trade is $1. Obiex's OTC desk starts at $50,000, Luno's OTC desk at $50,000 and Quidax's OTC desk above $100,000. Daya Pro is a live USD/NGN orderbook open 24/7, so you place the trade yourself instead of waiting for a desk to quote you.

Which OTC desks in Nigeria are open at weekends?

Obiex says its OTC team is available 24/7, and Daya Pro's orderbook trades 24/7. Luno's OTC desk runs Monday to Friday, 7am to 3pm Nigerian time. Quidax and Breet don't state opening hours on their OTC pages, so ask before you count on either for a weekend trade.

Does Quidax still have P2P?

No. Quidax discontinued its P2P service on 23 January 2026 and points former P2P users to its instant swap and orderbook. Merchants who used Quidax P2P for bigger amounts now choose between the orderbook, the OTC desk for trades above $100,000, or another provider.

What's the maximum trade on Luno OTC?

Luno's help centre puts the maximum at $2 million per trade, with bigger amounts arranged separately. The minimum is $50,000. Luno quotes an all-in price with no separate commission, and you can settle immediately or lock a price and settle within 2 business days.

Is Quidax licensed by the SEC?

Quidax Technologies Limited is listed on the SEC's register of fintech operators as a digital asset exchange under ARIP, alongside Busha Digital Limited. ARIP is the SEC's programme for crypto firms operating while they work toward full registration. You can search any provider's name on the same register before trading.

Sources(9)
  1. Best (OTC) Over The Counter Trade in Africa, Quidax. Accessed .
  2. What fees does Quidax charge?, Quidax. Accessed .
  3. P2P Service Discontinuation: Everything You Need to Know, Quidax. Accessed .
  4. Introducing Obiex OTC desk for high-volume crypto trades, Obiex. Accessed .
  5. Making large trades with the Luno OTC Desk, Luno. Accessed .
  6. OTC execution you can trust, Luno. Accessed .
  7. OTC crypto trading desk for African businesses, Breet. Accessed .
  8. Registered FinTech Operators, Securities and Exchange Commission, Nigeria. Accessed .
  9. Pro by Daya, Daya. Accessed .
Share

New posts, straight to your inbox

Occasional email when we publish something new on payments, FX and stablecoins.

By subscribing you agree to receive email from Daya about new blog posts. No product marketing, and you can unsubscribe from any email. See our privacy policy.